top of page

EBF Congress elected the new Presidium

European Bowling Federation
European Bowling Federation (EBF)

The EBF Congress 2023 was held in Berlin, Germany on October 22, 2023.

Delegates from 23 EBF federations were in attendance.

One of the standout moments of this year's congress was the presentation of the Annual Report for 2021-2022. During this session, the EBF Presidium unveiled the Gender Equality committee, a crucial initiative established in 2021, dedicated to addressing and working on gender equality issues within the sport.

The EBF Presidium also announced the formation of two new committees. These committees, the Hall of Fame/Awards committee and the Athletes committee, are expected to be established in the near future.

In a financial move signaling the changing times, the EBF Congress decided to increase the EBF Tournament approval fees. For the first time since 2015, the fees will see an adjustment, rising from 100 EUR to 200 EUR.

The articles for awards have been moved from the constitution to a new chapter, Chapter 9, within the EBF rules, in anticipation of new awards to be presented in 2024.

Another exciting development emerged at the Congress regarding the Grand Seniors (+65). It was announced that they would now have their EBF championships. The proposal was passed to the Tournament committee, which will present it to the Presidium for implementation

The EBF Congress also opted to form a Working Group with the responsibility of scrutinizing the EBF constitution and suggesting changes to its articles.

The Congress was not short of moments to celebrate and honor longstanding contributions. Mr. Addie Ophelders, who retired earlier in the year, was introduced as the first Honorary EBF President. Addie's remarkable journey saw him at the helm of the EBF for 34 years, with his presidency commencing in 1989.

Addie Ophelders - First Honorary President of EBF
Addie Ophelders - First Honorary President of EBF | Picture Credit: EBF

Mr. Valgeir Gudbjartsson of Iceland was elected as President, embarking on a two-year term. Mr. Marios Nicolaides from Cyprus secured the position of Vice-President, a four-year tenure awaiting him. Mr. Marc Beaufays from Belgium was re-elected to the Presidium, guaranteeing his presence for another four years, while Mrs. Lisa John from England joined the Presidium, also for a four-year term.

bottom of page